Home > SharePoint, SharePoint 2007 > Unable to copy VM Harddrives to external disk – FAT 32

Unable to copy VM Harddrives to external disk – FAT 32


As from time to time I buy a new disk to store my old VM’s on at the first copy I get an error message when I try to copy hard disk of my vm to my external disk. That’s due to the fact that those disks are mainly formatted as FAT32 (which can handle 4 GB). As I wanted to put a vhd on my work backup disk I got the same message, and I did not want to delete the backups I already took I looked for a command to change it without having to format the drive, and I found it 🙂

convert <drive> /fs:ntfs works. You should execute it in a command window that you are running as an administrator.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

